Congress officially announces Joe Biden's victory in the US elections


Congress has officially announced Joe Biden's victory in the US elections. The Senate received a total of 531 votes, of which Joe Biden received 306 and Trump 232.

The counting of Vermont's three electoral votes put Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris over the 270-threshold needed to win the presidency.

The Senate and House rejected objections to throw out Georgia and Pennsylvania's electoral votes for Biden. Republicans also objected to Arizona, Nevada, and Michigan's electoral votes, but the motions failed before they reached debate.

The session resumed this morning after the withdrawal of Trump supporters who stormed the Capitol.

The session was adjourned after supporters of President Trump stormed the building, there was shooting, there were arrests as well. Senate only managed to count 12 votes before the sitting was adjourned.

One woman was wounded and killed during a raid by Trump supporters on the Capitol building, while three other people were killed during a riot in the surrounding area. At least 14 police officers were injured, some of whom were taken to hospital.

The U.S. capital continues to operate a curfew, with the mayor of Washington extending it for 15 days.

White House staffers also left after the invasion of the Capitol, the last of whom made a similar decision is Deputy National Security Adviser, before resigning: Deputy Press Secretary Sarah Matthews, First Lady Melania Trump's chief of staff, Stephanie Grisham, and White House Social Secretary Ricky Nietzsche.